Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there is an excess amount of sugar in different products people consume, leading to health issues. While making these foods and drinks might deter people from buying sugary products, I disagree with the idea that charging consumers more would have more negatives than positives. From my perspective, preventing people from buying sugary products can have striking benefits for society. Raising the price of sugary food and drink products would encourage each individual to consume less amount of them. Using such products tends to increase the number of people who suffer from health problems like diabetes and brain-related diseases. Subsequently, the demand for health services will increase significantly, forcing the state to spend more amount of money on health insurance, which otherwise could be poured into other crucial infrastructures related to education and employment. Consequently, this trend can give different benefits to the whole community. However, there are two main reasons why I believe that governments shouldn't shoot up the products ' price. Firstly, this is against the individual's freedom, as each person is his or her own boss. People have to choose as they wish, and the most important thing is personal choice. Increasing the price of products not only prevents people from buying them but also might make them consume more because of their resentment against the government. Secondly, only poor families can't afford to buy processed food and beverages, although rich people won't consider the price of such products. This would make sweets, cakes and ice creams a luxury product, which is far from the results had been aimed. In conclusion, although making food and drink products more expensive may prevent people from conserving them, I believe that its merits far outweigh the drawbacks.