Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is certainly true that with the widespread usage of smartphones increasing among all ages, children are becoming more prone to overusing phones. There are several reasons behind this situation and i find this development more detrimental than positive. This essay will discuss the reasons why this trend has equal positive and negative effects. In today’s technological era, it is undeniable that the majority of people are prone to spending significant amounts of time on technological devices. Particularly, the parents of the new generation are completely captivated by the allure of social media; therefore with the emulation of their parents, children also become more addicted to their smartphones. With the advancement of Internet, mobile phones become more charming due to their utility, such as staying connected with our relatives, parents and friends. Its utilities are not restricted to entertainment or connecting, it can also provide children with the opportunity to learn a new language. There are a lot of applications that aspire to teach children a new language on their own. Additionally, there are an enormous amount of tutors who are eager to give children free tutorials through YouTube channels. On the other hand, it has some drawbacks that could adversely affect children. One of the most significant downsides is the risk of exposure to individuals with malicious intentions who may attempt to deceive them. Moreover, there are numerous distractions that may lead children to forget their responsibilities. Excessive smartphones make them find daily essentials less captivating. For instance, a child who play games for hours may be less inclined to strive for academic subjects. His brain isn’t stimulated while reading a book or article due to a loss of interest. Overall, the overuse of smartphones on a daily basis has negative impacts on children. However, if parents can strike a balance through supervising their children ’s phone usage, it can also have positive effects.