Topic: Student should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of people these days argue about teaching life skills in schools and think that students should only focus on academic subjects to do well on their exams and I strongly disagree with them. This essay will discuss why and the reason behind that. Firstly, people in general need to take a break and disconnect their minds from doing daily things so they can focus and concentrate more. And students in special need that so they can do well in their exams and tests. In fact, studies have shown that taking breaks is essential for the brain to function more and to have good outcomes. For example, I did good in school because I was also an athlete which made me want to achieve good marks in my studies and first place in my sport. Secondly, life skills like cooking and dressing are as important as academic subjects so the new generation can learn how to live alone and pursue life. For example, cooking classes would make them independent individuals if they live alone or they can contribute to their homes if they live with their families. In addition, dressing classes would teach them how to look good among their peers and to look presentable at special events at jobs or in their personal lives. In the end, I really believe in teaching the young generation non-academic subjects because it will separate their minds from focusing on academic subjects only and will teach them important lessons in life so they can be independent.