Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that economic progress should be the most significant priority for governments, whereas others believe that there are various sorts of progress that are as important as the other for a nation. I strongly agree with the former opinion and my reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that economic progress is of paramount importance for a community. Economic progress has positive effects on the lives of citizens. In other words, if people derive a deeper satisfaction from their salaries, more positive results will be yielded. They are more likely to work diligently as they are able to meet their basic needs. For example, in Iran, people are often struggling with many financial issues and, in turn, they are unable to concentrate on other aspects of progress, such as environmental concerns. On the other hand, another group of people claim that environmental problems should be as substantial as economic progress. They firmly insist that the environment is at risk of numerous threats all around the world, and governments should undertake greater responsibility for such issues as opposed to focusing solely on economic difficulties. However, I do not find this argument persuasive, as the lack of economic stability can discourage individuals from tackling any other forms of progress in a country. In conclusion, in my view, economic stability should the main focus for governments. A sufficient income can provide people with a chance to consider the other types of progression. Moreover, economic stability can result in making progress in many other fields in a nation.