Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, transportation is one of the biggest challenges of humanity, owing to the huge number of vehicles occupying city roads and causing serious congestion. Whilst people account that riding bicycles is a pragmatic transportation method in today's world, others share an opposing view by implying its obvious drawbacks. It is my contention that although bicycles as a transportation tool are utterly beneficial for short-distance destinations, present shortcomings such as safety concerns and limited range limit their scalability in streets. First and foremost, the world's agenda takes a sharp turn from vehicles that are burning fossil fuels to more sustainable solutions like electric cars and bikes. Thereby, proponents of sustainable transportation solutions, underscore the huge potential of bicycle riding in cities to utilize its full value for good. Furthermore, cyclists can save a considerable amount of their time spent in traffic in comparison with an average city driver. For instance, a majority of citizens in the Netherlands prioritize moving around with their bikes rather than cars to shorten travel time while also harnessing physical advantages. On the other hand, as much as bicycles are considered eco-friendly transportation, they cause a formidable threat to the riders on roads. It is worth emphasizing that a lack of physical protection during an accident can result in the demise of a cyclist. To cite an example, almost 90% of heavy road accidents resulted in fatality over recent years, positioning it as the most dangerous transportation in the world. Moreover, bicycles a slow and ineffective transportation vehicles which can be impractical for long distances during extreme weather conditions. Consequently, these inabilities combine with the negative sides of riding a bicycle. In conclusion, despite bicycles being respected as an indispensable substitution for vehicles in areas where sustainable development is necessary, these vehicles fall short of furnishing users with safer and faster travel.