Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that in order to ensure a safer driving environment, increasing the minimum legal age for driving a vehicle is the best solution. I disagree with this statement because young drivers are not one of the essential factors that contribute to road safety and there are better solutions. To begin with, there are other factors affecting road safety. Although teenage drivers may cause accidents due to lack of practice and driving experience, drunk driving and drug driving with unconsciousness could result in serious crashes involving not only injuries but even death. For instance, a vast majority of drivers who risk themselves driving after drinking alcohol in China recently are reported to be aged between 25 to 40. Therefore, increasing the minimum legal age cannot eliminate other factors like self-control and morals contributing to dangerous driving. Considering the factors mentioned above, there are better ways to ensure road safety. Firstly, for all age groups who start to learn how to drive, the driver’s license office should increase the duration of getting a full license to ensure student drivers gain enough practical experience under a supervisor’s monitor. For example, it takes at least two years for people in BC Canada to be eligible to drive alone, whereas in China, one can easily get a license within two months, yet always get criticized as appalling drivers by other countries. Furthermore, if there was a more stringent penalty for drunk and drug driving, drivers would consider more before taking irresponsible actions. In conclusion, I believe that increasing the age restriction for driving motorcycles contributes poorly to the road safety problem since there are other factors that need to be considered. By introducing stricter rules for getting a license and penalties with serious consequences, the problem can be addressed more effectively.