Some people think the government should provide free education in all levels. Others argue that university students should pay for their education. Discuss both views.

Education is instrumental in shaping the future of society. While some suppose that the government should take responsibility for free education at all levels, there is another idea, which is also in my favour, that studying in universities should not be free. In the following essay, I attempt to investigate both views and I will also express my opinion. To begin with, some suppose that the government should provide individuals with free education from primary school to university. The main benefit of free education is social equality. It can be seen that there are many families who are living under the poverty line, and cannot afford to pay for private schools. Consequently, free education gives all people the same chance to become educated and change their lives. Secondly, the government could become independent. The government can benefit from a lot of skilled workers and professionals who have been studying and learning necessary skills freely. Therefore, society could be self-sufficient without any needs from other countries. On the contrary, some people, which I also side with, maintain that studying in universities should not be free. The main reason why university students should pay for their education is that tertiary education is unbelievably expensive. The government should provide a range of facilities in universities which can result in higher taxes and inflation. Secondly, education without any cost or expense could undermine the value of hard work. Studying at university has great value in all countries, and entering a university without any attempts can have a negative influence on the quality of graduates. To take Iran as an example, thereare a lot of free universities in this country, and students can start their higher education easily. As a consequence of this phenomenon, many graduates are not able to fit into society and find their dream job because they are not qualified to solve social problems. In a nutshell, although some claim that education should be free at all levels, others uphold that students should pay for studying in universities. Nevertheless, I agree with the second group as free education in universities can cause an economic crises in society and graduates without any essential skills.