Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the contemporary era, elderly people tend to spend their retirement life moving to foreign countries. From my perspective, this tendency can not only bring many benefits such as lower living expenses or unique experiences, but also it is undeniable that these people might face several disadvantages of language barrier and feeling homesickness. On the one hand, it is noticeable that many retirees are opting to live abroad for the advantage of economic savings. There is a common tendency for old people usually choose middle-income countries, such as Thailand or Vietnam, to live the rest of their lives because of many affordable and favourable living conditions such as accommodation or food. For example, a person might pay 100 dollars per month for a small apartment in France compared to one who only needs 20 dollars a month to live in a Vietnamese duplex house. Settling abroad is not only money-saving but also enhances people's enjoyment of new experiences. Many elderly people tend to spend the majority of their time before devoting themselves to working, thus in their retirement period, they would like to make up for the youth by living abroad to experience more and learn other cultures, and languages. Living in Vietnam, for instance, many English speakers in retirement would like to take up once-in-a-lifetime opportunities becoming teachers a new experience. On another hand, it can be seen that spending one’s retirement abroad finds many challenges. Firstly, it may be too late for many old people to pick up new languages due to the huge amount of time required to master a language. Japan can be seen as a case, is one of the toughest languages in the world, and demands around 5 years to fluent in this language. It is true that not being an expert in native languages might lead to the elderly’s feelings of being overwhelmed and isolated for not getting in with new environments. Besides, they might have been homesick since living far away from their homeland for the long term, without support from their immediate families or close friends in different geographical regions. In conclusion, there are both positive effects and negative impacts that come along with the tendency for the elderly to move to new countries. While they can save an amount of pension to settle down abroad and enjoy new experiences, it is possible to meet the challenges of fluent languages or feeling homesick.