In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is important for society to think about the life of its elderly and more importantly the source of their funds for living. Although there is support from the state, other sources must be considered such as their families. This essay believes that the burden must be put on the shoulders of their families in the first place and then the government because it is a moral matter for their loved ones and for the government towards its citizens. To begin with, it must be noted that the old people were once on their feet and not only could they take care of themselves but others around them as well. Furthermore, they took care of their children and grandchildren while they could. Therefore, it is only fair if they receive the service they gave back once they are in need.Even though it might sound unfair, we must consider the time when we get in their place and need others’ help. Moreover, many of these elderlies have left properties for their children in advance along with many other sources of income so it is only fair to give a portion of that back to them while they are alive. However, there are always worse situations which we must consider. For instance, a noticeable percentage of people in nursing homes have lost their families or never even had one. Nevertheless, there are those who are not even in contact with their loved ones or even worse, no one is willing to look after them.Because of this, it is on the state to look after these men and women since it is important for the society that their elected government support them. After all, the old people have paid taxes when they could so part of that money must get back to them in this vital situation. In conclusion, it must be said that families should take care of their old ones as far as they can.To be continued, for those with no outside support, the state should be in charge of this matter so we get to have an even society.