There is too much new and information circulating on the internet nowadays. Is the information on the Internet reliable? How can it be controlled?

It is commonly believed that there is a lot of news and information that can be found on the Internet at present. Some of this news is not reliable because some news is only one-sided, and people post fake news only to get more views. Clearly, there are a few steps that the government can take to solve this issue. Firstly, some news in the media, such as Facebook and Twitter, cannot be fully relied on because they are one-sided. In other words, some news channels only cover news based on what they prefer to show. To illustrate, some Western media, namely CNN and the BBC, are not reliable among Arabs because most of the news that is covered is only based on the preferences of Westerners. In fact, some of these news can even give the wrong image about them to the world. This undoubtedly can cause problems among different nations. Another reason why some news and information cannot be fully trusted these days is that some people post wrong information for their own sake. To be precise, in order to get a lot of views, some irresponsible individuals post the wrong information, which sometimes can make the public feel worried, confused, and anxious. Nevertheless, this will help some people generate income through their posts. For instance, in Malaysia, even at present, some people still post wrong information about the COVID-19 vaccination causing many discussions among the public with the main aim, to earn more views and money. This is certainly a wrong act that can lead to adverse effects. Hence, to overcome this issue, the government plays a crucial role. One step that can be taken is to come up with awareness programs to educate people not to simply trust what they see in the media. They have to be encouraged to look for reliable sources to get the information that they want. If, for example, they are looking for information relating to health, they should follow approved medical pages, namely WHO. The government should also punish people who post the wrong information so that this kind of behaviour can be stopped. To sum up, some of the news cannot be trusted due to its one-sided nature and sources. Thus, it is paramount for every individual not to simply believe what they read or see, and they should choose the right sites to get their sources.