In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The rapid development of technology has brought us many great achievements in many fields, especially the field of health. More and more people are living longer than ever before. Most people currently can expect to live into their seventies and beyond. Correspondingly, high-income and middle-income countries face major challenges to the ageing population. However, some argue that it has a positive effect on their society. From my point of view, I believe that the drawbacks of the ageing population outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, the elderly population have a wealth of experience and knowledge that not every young adult can have. To clarify this, retired professors can become consultants of the startup company. Some professors in university can use books written by them for teaching. They teach the pupils an experience base not only just reading syllabus. Moreover, an ageing population are maintaining the traditional handicraft jobs in some countries which improve and develop the economy of tourism. Besides, the growth of elderly people can lead to a rise in demand for healthcare services which brings about creating a number of jobs. On the other hand, we must assume that ageing population could cause three main problems for the government. Firstly, the increase in the age average might cause a rise in the population in the world which makes the government face to a lack of substructures and material facilities. Additionally, retirement is increased which is a financial burden to governments in their countries. Moreover, job positions become more and more limited, young adults have difficulties finding a career. For instance, some countries like China, and Japan have to confront the ageing population issue and economic recession because lack of labour. Accordingly, I suppose that the benefits do not overshadow all the problems that might come up to the government. In conclusion, although the ageing population has had a positive impact on movements, I believe that elderly people deserve to receive welfare benefits after devoting their whole lives to their country. Finally, I think the government need to have a subtle policy to solve this issue.