Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that competition in a variety of daily environments has a positive effect, while others think that instead of focusing on competition, we should concentrate more on cooperation. While I understand the advantages of competition, I believe that cooperation should be valued more. Sometimes, we cannot ignore the importance of competition in people’s daily routines. Competition makes pupils creative, and they could grow faster; I remember when I was in middle school, many students wanted to be in the top five because their pictures would be hung at the entrance. On the other hand, at work, employees could challenge themselves in a competitive environment; in competitions, we could find out the difference between elite and medium workers. Despite the benefits of competition, I would argue that focusing on cooperation instead of competition would be more practical. By looking at the evolution of humans, we could easily infer that cooperation is inherent to our nature; therefore, I believe fostering cooperation is essential. First, it would be a good approach to teach teamwork to the students from an early age, rather than forcing them to compete with their peers. Secondly, many jobs require collaboration, not competition, for instance, occupations related to computers and programming. I remember when I became a master’s student, I could create many types of applications, and solve numerous programming problems; however, when it came to working in a team, I had a serious problem. So, I started to learn about teamwork in engineering. Lastly, it is worth mentioning that many popular sports need cooperation. For example, in football. It is clear that the team that can cooperate more effectively will win the championship. In conclusion, I acknowledge the benefits of competition in our daily lives. However, I believe the ability to cooperate outweighs the competition in many aspects of our lives.