The most important aim of science should be to improve people's live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, science has shown some significant improvements that benefit people's quality of life, including expanding their life span. Personally, I agree with this contention since there are some discoveries from various fields of science which have been proven beneficial for people's lives. To begin with, one of the inventions that should not be taken as granted is the discovery of medication, for example, the COVID-19 vaccine. It is known that when the pandemic hit us globally, people suffered so much from having various symptoms. This situation was quite worrying since the hospitals were not big enough to serve the overloaded patients. In addition, there was a lack number of medical workers, such as doctors and nurses. Fortunately, about one year after battling with the pandemic, the vaccine eventually emerged although there were a lot of victims that had fallen. However, people were still very grateful for the invention of the COVID-19 vaccine because it lighted up their hopes. Subsequently, another science field that has a big contribution to people's lives is astronomy. Actually, it is not a kind of discovery that has a direct impact on people's lives (such as health) but it is more like a contribution to better knowledge. For instance, as astronomic technology gets more advanced, the unravelling of outer objects becomes much easier so that the public gets to know more about outer space. On the other hand, the information is widely accessible if they want to learn more about the solar system. In conclusion, science has become one of the most important subjects to be paid attention to because its contribution to our lives is truly mesmerizing.