Some people argue that because the internet makes it so easy for children to access facts, schools should not focus on teaching facts. Instead, they should focus on developing children’s skills and potential, and their relationships with other people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often believed that schools should put more priority on promoting individual skills and talents and interpersonal techniques rather than providing facts due to the Internet which allows students to gain information with more ease. I partially agree with this, for the changing demands of society regardless of a teacher's explanation of facts being still helpful to deepen their understanding. On the one hand, it is necessary for schools to emphasize improving more personal skills and abilities, which are critical in modern society. In other words, recent companies tend to put more importance on human potential as they tend to require applicants to demonstrate their social skills such as leadership, communication and management in interview tests. For instance, Guriko, a Japanese sweet industry, asked applicants to introduce their original snacks after discussions with other members. Meanwhile, the individual commitment to achieve the mutual goal is carefully evaluated by the interviewers to seek the future progress of the company. Therefore, the training to develop problem-solving techniques and cooperation is more demanded at schools today to increase their opportunities for employment than the delivery of knowledge. On the other hand, schools should still play significant roles in offering facts to promote the understanding of students. Indeed, the interactive approaches between teachers and students encourage them to internalize some ideas thanks to the useful explanations and relevant examples that teachers introduce in class. Even those with learning disabilities are able to catch up as topics are often made easier to follow. This should not be neglected to ensure equal educational opportunities. In contrast, the Internet often contains much jargon and baseless information, leading to confusion as well as declining motivation for studying. Consequently, school is the first place that students expect to expand their understanding of various subjects. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that school education should be based on nurturing individual potentials and interpersonal techniques since their importance is more stressed in modern life. However, the significance of schools providing facts should not be ignored since teachers could offer more personalized explanations to develop the interests and understanding of students than the Internet.