If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them.

It is commonly argued that we must be obliged or compelled to look after our elderly family members who can no longer support themselves. While it seems a necessity, I do not agree with this idea for several reasons. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why younger generations should support their older family members. Initially, to return the love and positive emotions they may have given us during our lifetime and to compensate for all they have done for us, it’s highly precious and valuable to help them when they cannot look after themselves anymore. Furthermore, they are a considerable part of the society. Consequently, providing emotional support at the same time as supporting financially and physically will lead to a far more blissful and prosperous society. However, it could be unnecessary and irrational to introduce a law and impose an obligation to look after aged relatives. Firstly, it's against the individual's freedom, which is the foundation of democracy, to force people to even care for their family members. This might act as counterproductive and build up resentment feeling among the members of a family. Secondly, the hustle and bustle of the big cities lifestyle force people to work overtime; therefore, they have less time to communicate with the members of their immediate family. This is due to people's tendency to have a higher quality and standard of life compared to past generations. Lastly, it is not reasonable to punish younger generations for neglecting their parents. Also, the elderly people wouldn't consent if their younger family members were punished. In conclusion, although helping older relatives can be considered valuable, I’m against the idea that people should be forced to look after them.