Write about the following topic: Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Looking back one hundred years, people have recognized computers as one of the most remarkable inventions of the human being. I believe this technology has, indeed, been a turning point in our lives within a social and educational frame, becoming one of the most striking creations of our society. The first point to consider is that computers have connected people from all over the world. Big companies have developed online platforms which have driven the connection between countries regardless of their geography, culture, religion and economic status. As a result, governments can work hand in hand in tackling challenges of global concern. For instance, the political conflict between Ukraine and Russia is being assisted by EU countries who are planning helpful strategies to shortened their war period. This couldn´t be possible without the social connection computers provide us. A further consideration is that accessing Change the form of the verb access show examples to higher education has been revolutionized worldwide. Universities have bet on technology as a new method of teaching, providing students with online platforms where they can access updated and accurate information written by experts. Consequently, this approach has reduced the tuition fees of universities, preventing families from facing unrealistc costs associated with third-level education. For example, edX is an online resource created by Harvard University and the MIT which provides affordable courses for people to deepen their expertise in any field they are into. The flip side would have been attending the courses in a face-to-face modality, rising the prices thousands and thousands of dollars. However, it´s true that teaching online can be more superficial than studying in a classroom. Overall, computers have changed positively the way our society works from a social and educational perspective. This invention has connected all countries improving their coordination and enriching their populations with affordable, updated and accurate knowledge.