You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Many nations make a decision to construct specialized facilities with a view to achieving international sports, in lieu of sporting equipment for everyone to utilise. I believe this is a positive development because this would ensure that the trainees can have a stable training method. On the one hand, the negative impacts of the construction of specialized sports buildings should be taken into consideration because a huge amount of money needs to be expended on upgrading sporting equipment due to the high demand for athletics. However, these facilities can only be used for practising for a short-term period because people are unable to access high-class training devices. As a result, governments need to suffer a huge economic loss because of their careless investments. For example, the authorities in Australia spent a vast amount of money building specialized facilities in order to have a chance to take part in the Olympics 2019, but afterwards, its government was in debt to other countries. On the other hand, I believe this development can bring certain advantages. High-class training can reduce the cost of coaching significantly, as athletes normally need to travel to other developed countries in order to have appropriate training. Therefore, when a nation is able to upgrade sports facilities, it becomes more convenient and economical for athletes to pursue their passion. For instance, in the past, because of the financial burden, Vietnam could only send its sportsmen to foreign nations for international sports activities. In recent years, Vietnam has planned to construct its own specialized sports centres, which would be beneficial for both athletes and the economy. In conclusion, although building specialized sporting equipment can take up a large amount of money it can help the athletes train stable and have a chance to achieve international prizes.