Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of how to make transportation safer. In my view, both punishments and a wide range of other measures can be used in phalanx to promote better driving habits. On the one hand, strict punishments can effectively encourage drivers to drive safely. Penalties for the dangerous driving behavior can act as a deterrent, which force people to hug the road and make the traffic safer. There are various types of punishments, which are conducted to the drivers according to the rules that they violated, from small fines or taking driving awareness courses to license suspension and even prison sentences. The aim of these penalties is to show how dangerous drivers that their action have negative consequences. As a result, we would hope that drivers become more disciplined and alert to follow the traffic rules carefully. On the other hand, I believe that safe driving habits can be promoted in several other ways despite punishing drivers. Firstly, it is significantly important to educate people properly before they start to drive on road, which could be done in schools or even as part of the stricter driving test. Secondly, there should be more attention be paid to the road design. For instance, signs should be placed to warn drivers, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic and the speed cameras can help to deter people from speeding. Finally, local government or relevant councils can reduce road accidents by ensuring the cars moving on routes are all roadworthy, which avoids crashes caused by malfunctions of cars. In conclusion, while punishments can effectively intervene bad drivings, I believe that other road safety measures should be introduced at the same time to lead to more dramatic and long-term effects on secure transportation