It seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In this modern world, people have different views about the perspective of exams in the student life. Examination becomes the source of judgement of pupils as compared to the way of evaluation for academics. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits as well as drawbacks of this phenomenon. Firstly, It cannot be denied that academic analysis plays an important role in the success of learners because it provides them an overview that in which area they need to be more focused. Furthermore, It tells them their academic strength as well as improves their personalitiy personalities. Exams as a factor of computation not only gives the certification but also makes the path of different career opportunities. For instance, there are various competitive exams that give the opportunity to get their dream jobs like Entrance exam for medical studies to become a doctor, IELTS exam for studies in a foreign country as well as many more to become an engineer, web designer, and a teacher etcetera. In despite of, merits of evaluation there are some demerits that cannot be put on the back burner. exams can be a depressing thing for certain group of students because sometimes individuals who are not able to perform very well academically, but there are other things that they can do exceptionally. For Example, a student who is not good in medical but have a talent of photography but he can be discourged by his poor performance in the examination to try any other new opportunity. Consequently, exams can become the hurdle in the way of learning and growth of students. In conclusion, It can be analysed that assesssment of students through the exams can proves to be a ladder of success as well as a slide of failure. As exams provide the motivation to students to do the hard work in their strong subject and get the desired jobs but sometimes students loose the encouragement to do any other thing after facing failure in the examination. Therefore, It is need of the hour that educational institutions and law makers should find some effective ways to evaluate the students academically rather than giving them judgement about their individual worth through exams.