In some cultures the old age is more valued, while in other cultures youth is more valued. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As our world progresses and diversifies, a new debate has been sparked on whether emphasis should be placed on old or young people. While some cultures value the aged, others hold their young population to a greater degree of importance. This essay will discuss both points of view and argue in favor of the latter. In the past, this was not even a debate. It is assumed that older people are better, and for good reason. They are wiser because they have experienced more in life. Thus, they are better leaders, and are more fit to important roles in society, seeing as many great leaders are of older age. The Vietnamese proverb “The older the ginger, the spicier it is” also reflects this, as it refers to how a person gains more wisdom the older they become. However, in the present, things have changed. The youth have become more capable than ever before as access to education improves. It has been proven that the young carry the economy as the aged retires. As such, they have adapted to become more open-minded and have a wealth of ideas that could change the world for the better, as opposed to the aged who are more dogmatic and old-fashioned. Both sides have some very valid arguments. However, as the young hold the future of the world in their hands, they should be held with higher value. As the aged become incapable, it is the young who will step up and take the leading role. In the end, both the old and the young have their own roles in society. However, young folk should be prioritized due to their potential for growth and improvement.