Some people say that international sporting events contribute greatly to peace and stability Somein the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports has the power to build bridges and bring people closer of various nations. It is commonly believed by one school of thought that the world is gaining peace due to the international tournaments being held in different nations. I agree to a great extent with the given notion and this essay will highlight the backing reasons in favour of my view point with suitable examples in the subsequent paragraphs. Diverse points endorse the compelling reasons for the aforementioned phenomenon. The principal among all is, empowering the nation's economy. The influx in passengers due to the international matches helps in the enormous growth of the aviation, hospitality and tourism industries. For instance, since the Cricket World Cup started organising by developing countries, the revenues generated by the sponsored local companies have increased magnificently. Secondly, if travellers would witness the cultural diversity in the inauguration ceremonies of the tournaments then this could generate their interest in the local handicrafts, traditional dresses etc. Consequently, this would lead to cultural exchange and would help in bringing peace in nations. Therefore, sports contests globally not only shoot up the economy but also bring peace by organising cultural dramas before the beginning of contests. To consolidate my viewpoint, international players showcase their sportsmanship. Even if players of two teams are from rival countries, they show respect towards each other on the grounds which inspires the citizens of those nations to love, respect and unite for global peace. The prime example is when a cricket match between two Asian rival countries A and B is held, the whole stadium is completely packed. The different audience of the participating countries shares the same dance on the local songs which in turn helps in building friendship among individuals of different nationalities. However, the question that arises here is, is the spending on global events benefitting the poor? Certainly, no. The government spends millions to beautify the infrastructure just to show off that their organisation and management are better than the previous countries. Rather, they should invest this money in building smart schools for poor children, providing them with shelter and clothes so that poverty-stricken communities can lead peaceful life. Thus, the more the number of such events, more closer the nations will become but officials should spend dollars mindfully. To conclude, it can be inferred that no doubt, expenditure on the games is not in favour of the impoverished. Nonetheless, worldwide gaming events come with prosperity, multiculturalism and closeness among people which in turn brings calmness.