In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern world, in some nations, humans are expected to have their first offspring late, when they are older. Many people indicate that it is because they want to be completely sure that their son is financially secure, others comment that it is due to their career that future parents are willing to delay the birth of their child. To begin with, the first reason can be considered the financial factor. Often poor couples worry a lot about their child’s life and think about having a baby when they have at least some important facilities to raise and to take care of the child as well. For instance, our neighbour has just had a baby, because they had a problem of accomodation. Moreover, some adults prefer having a good career and enjoying social life to sitting at home and raising their offspring. In other words,, they do not want to sacrifice their personal young life and spend most of their valuable time on the baby’s upbringing. On the flip side, I feel that there are several negative effects to this trend. Firstly, delaying pregnancy can lead to health complications. Fertility starts to decline after the age of thirty, and babies born after this age might have a higher risk of health conditions such as Dawn syndrome and other genetic birth defects. Hence, having a kid in old maturity can have fatal consequences for an infant's well-being. Secondly, having a child later may cause a significant gap between the two generations and this will make it harder for parents to communicate with their children and bring up. For example, one of my father's girlfriends had a baby at the age of 56 and it was hard for her to take care of him. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that although some benefits can be visible in having a kid at an old age such that their children will be financially secure and will have a proper childhood and education, nevertheless, offspring can have serious health issues and it will be tough for already aged parents to raise and also give love to their children.