New coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Therefore, some people believe this type of news should not be reported in newspapers or shown on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays, news contains more and more about horrible crimes that might have bad effects on citizens as well as encourage offenders to commit crimes. While I recognize the people who argue this news shouldn't be broadcast, I believe that reporting such offensive stories has far more benefits. There are two main reasons why it is considered that TV, Radio, and newspapers report news about barbaric crimes that might have negative effects. Crime news tends to scare people easily because of the vivid and shocking nature of these stories, leading to an increase in the level of stress and reducing the sense of safety in society. Furthermore, they tend to create first-time offenders and also teach petty criminals new ways of offending. The expense of such news, which is paid by taxpayers, is the same as lessons for criminals and can lead them to become professionals in criminology. Therefore, telling such stories could make people hesitate about crime-related media, raising the question of whether media use it to attract new audiences or improve the standard of residents' lives. Yet, spreading vicious crime stories among people could be more beneficial. Considering the punishments criminals would undergo, these stories will be detrimental to petty criminals. For example, reading about a group of people who are involved in an armed robbery and then get caught, or those who have been accused of sexual harassment, and the way they were punished can deter offenders from doing more horrible crimes such as brutal murder and savage rape. Similarly, it can raise the awareness of individuals, teaching them how to resist dangerous situations and how to behave when facing criminals. In conclusion, although reporting horrible crimes can have negative effects, In my opinion, its merits compensate for the drawbacks.