Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Undoubtedly, governments play a crucial role in maximizing the efficiency of the funds taxed by citizens. Some people look upon expenditures on arts as a waste of money and should be allocated to public services instead. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with the argument, and the reasons will be thoroughly explained as follows. To begin with, not all individuals are passionate about arts, and this group of people will not benefit from the given policy. In other words, the original intention of investing in arts might not be as ideal as reality. For example, although the Taiwanese government has spent a great amount of money on building museums displaying sculptures and paintings over the decades, I never visit any of them due to lacking interest. However, as a citizen, I still have to take the burden of the annual maintenance fees despite never receiving any advantage. On the other hand, it is widely accepted that public services like health care or infrastructure can significantly enhance everyone's life of quality. That is to say, the government should prioritize funding public services because it is a more comprehensive option to take care of their citizens. For instance, if the government puts more emphasis on road safety and reconstructs roads with uneven surfaces across the whole of the nation, all citizens can benefit from it regardless of their ages or hobbies. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, investing in public services is much more meaningful compared to arts because the former successfully reaches all citizens and increases their life quality greatly.