Computers can translate all kinds of language well, so our children needn’t learn more languages in the future. What is your opinion about this idea ?

Thanks to the advances in technology, almost all typical languages in the world are understandable because of the use of computers. Accordingly, a number of people believe that it is no longer necessary for children to learn foreign languages in the coming years. From my perspective, I do not agree with this opinion for the following reasons. It is undeniable that being bilingual does bring about numerous advantages to human life. To begin with, it helps us gain better cross-cultural understanding, which, indeed, is extremely significant in this globalisation era. It is not the ability to listen and respond to what people say that plays the most vital role, but the emotional interactions without any supporting tools that enhance the efficiency of mutual communication. For example, when travelling to a new country, if visitors are able to understand the native language, they will definitely find it more effortless to do things including seeking tourist attractions and diving deeper into the customs and habits of local residents, which assist them to widen their horizon and spend time meaningfully. Furthermore, having a bilingual or even multilingual brain makes a great contribution to youngsters' concentration. It is clear that learning a new language means making new connections and practising our minds constantly to fulfil all the details, which eventually results in greater logical analysis and problem-solving skills. For instance, an experiment carried out by a group of British scientists depicts that those who are bilinguals have stronger nervous cell connections than monolinguals. These bilingual individuals, hence, can stay focused longer and improve their academic performance effectively. Nevertheless, the appearance of electronic devices like computers in wording translation did contribute considerably to human language learning. First, it provokes learning and communicating through its availability. For instance, due to the fact that there is a variety of translating tools such as Google Translate, TFlat Dictionary and U Dictionary, it is becoming easier for the young to take advantage of them in any situation, as long as having an Internet connection. Therefore, they are able to save some time in daily conversation with foreigners in case they do not know the language as well as maintain politeness and professional image. In addition, a range of languages installed in these apps is another major strength of this concept. For example, since a lot of languages are designed to fit in with the devices, users are allowed to enter any conversation and communicate with citizens throughout the world even if they are talking in a totally different terminology. As a result, people can safeguard the convenience of interacting while enjoying its convenience and usefulness. In conclusion, despite the help from computers, learning more languages is still essential in the future for its beneficial effects. It is recommended that we make full use of all technological devices such as smartphones, tablets, and laptops to achieve success in wording learning mindfully as well as keep pursuing our initial purposes in a new language.