Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether sports play an indispensable role in society or are just recreational activities. The writer contends that despite apprehension among some, this trend creates national prosperity in both economic and health aspects. Undoubtedly, engaging in sports has various advantageous aspects. As this engagement proliferates, it eliminates the gap between individuals and promotes a sense of connection, lacking in this modern age. Besides that, this trend enhances social health outcomes as it encourages people to take part in health-benefit activities. This encouragement brings about positive lifestyle changes, such as relieving stress or a more aesthetic physique. Additionally, those who let sport play an integral role in their life can develop not only health aspects but also essential characteristics. This is because these activities are satisfactory environments to nurture a sense of perseverance, leadership, and motor skills, which are necessary for these people to apply to the occupations. Oppositions argue that prioritizing sports can detrimentally affect national prosperity, especially in the economic aspect. In more detail, they argue that if the government allocates financial resources to support economic expansion or invest in more pressing areas like education and arts, the rewards stemming from this decision can be more beneficial and tangible. This point may be valid. However, without paying enough attention to sports, the consequences are far-fetched as society becomes less energetic and contracts with illnesses, adversely affecting the government in healthcare services and the economy. Moreover, sport can be a leading contributor to the country's prosperity as this attracts tourism and foreign investments. Take the Premier League in the UK, for instance; thanks to initiatives from the government, this competition plays a significant role in advertising the country internationally, contributing to the UK's financial success. In conclusion, directing money to another area instead of sports can be more advantageous in some ways; more significant benefits can be witnessed from a socioeconomic perspective.