Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

The older people become, the more important integrating exercises into daily life is. Agreeing with this idea, many doctors around the globe spur elderly people to exercise. However, the elderly tend to fail to incorporate enough exercise into their lives for the following major two reasons: inadequate time for working out and a lack of knowledge about how to exercise. In order to address these primary reasons, reducing their working hours and informing them of appropriate methods would be crucial. Nowadays, elderly people have still full-time jobs, which usually require them to work for their companies for at least 40 hours weekly. Considering their age, it is not feasible for them to engage in regular exercise after working shifts. By the time they clock out, they will have been worn out, resulting in not having sufficient energy to go for a brisk walk or run. Furthermore, in most cases, doctors recommend that older people run or go to a gym session, which does not suit their age. Since these types of exercises essentially need a considerable amount of stamina to complete, it is extremely difficult for them to take up any of them on a regular basis. So as to facilitate the elderly’s commitment to exercise, there would be two chief approaches considered, one of which is to cut their working hours. Although this may require the companies’ understanding as well as government intervention, it will be significantly effective. If they were to only devote themselves to working for 30 hours per week. it would provide them with more room to allocate for working out. Additionally, it is crucial for doctors to make suggestions based on their age, interests, and physical levels. For instance, some exercises that can be done at home or are aligned with their hobbies could amplify their commitment to engagement in a workout. Thus, personalised methods would be more appealing to many elderly. In conclusion, I argue that working commitment as full-time workers and a lack of knowledge hinder older people from engaging in exercise. However, these will be potentially resolved by reducing their working hours as well as instilling more attractive methods regarding exercise.