Write about the following topic: In some countries, more and more people are hiring a personal fitness trainer, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many developed nations, there has been a significant increase in the popularity of private fitness coaches and a drop in outdoor sports and exercise clubs. I believe this is a negative development and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the same. Being fit does not mean only physical strength. Mental well-being is also an important part of being healthy. Playing sports enhances exposure to nature, which is widely known to increase dopamine in the brain, and reduce stress levels. One must also note that these personalised exercise sessions are quite expensive. Many working-class people are unable to afford these high fees and eventually drop out of these classes. In contrast, playing football or cricket in the park is usually free, and can be as rigorous if not more, as a fitness class. Although some people argue that expert guidance while performing exercises, helps one learn the right techniques and reduces the risk of injury. While I agree with that, I still strongly believe that the advantages of group exercise clubs and sports outweigh its disadvantages. To conclude, I believe that the shift towards personal trainers is a negative development and that playing sports is a more holistic and cost-effective way to get fitter.