In many countries elderly population is increasing What are the advantages and disadvantages?

A number of elderly people is rapidly growing in many countries across the world and, it has a huge impact on economical and socio-cultural situation of various countries. This essay will suggest that subject-matter experience of elderly people and strong cultural bonds are the biggest advantage of this phenomenon, but less people in workforce and increase in the Government spending are the primary disadvantages. The main advantage of having more population of elderly people is the knowledge they can provide with their year of experience and subject matter expertise. Elderly people can also guide younger generation in better decision making. Furthermore, senior citizens contribute a lot in fostering the family values and cultural norms, which leads to strong social bonds among the younger people. Despite these advantages, increasing population of elderly people put more strain on economy because it decreases the number of people in country’s workforce. As a result, it becomes more difficult for employers to find suitable candidates for a Job. Moreover, the Government has to spend more on social and financial security of senior citizens, which reduces the resources available to the Government which can be used for more important issues of the country like providing better education, health care and employment opportunities etc. In conclusion, the growing number of elderly people has advantages, especially their experience in various field and their contribution towards sustaining cultural and societal values of the country. At the same time, it also poses serious disadvantages like less people in workforce and more government spending on the social security.