Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that teenage criminals who commit serious crimes should be imposed sentences as tough as adults.From my perspective,I agree with this point of view for the following reasons. First of all,if we don’t bring young criminals to justice due to the Juvenile Protection Act,it could lead to the fear of crime among the public and cause civil unrest.The reason is that there is a high probability of reoffending. For example,some repeat offenders are likely to take revenge on victims as well as their families if they are not sent to prison.In this way,the law couldn’t deter other potential criminals if they don’t have to be responsible for different degrees of crimes committed. This might promote the development of a criminal subculture among teenagers too. Moreover,some children are from disadvantaged backgrounds, thus they are ignorant of the law and are driven to great lengths of desperation by poverty, as a result,they engage in delinquent behaviours for survival.In this case,heavier punishments will raise their awareness of the consequences of their wrongdoings and prevent their reoffending. For example,they can receive vocational training and equip themselves with employment skills,which will help them find work and reintegrate into society,but this requires time and effort. Therefore,they need longer-term of sentences for rehabilitation. Certainly,there might be some advantages in terms of being more tolerant towards juvenile delinquency,it is often argued that they are too young to take the equal responsibility as adults. While this may be true up to a point,the fact is that a lot of youngsters are precocious and they intentionally keep crossing the bottom line of the legal system because they know they won’t pay much for the price. In conclusion,I agree with the suggestion that we should introduce stricter laws on juvenile delinquency.It can not only promote turning offenders into law-abiding citizens but also make teens think twice before violating the law.