Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve.

The issue of what kind of environment should be provided by schools has long been a thorny one. While many feel that the level of competitiveness found within education is excessive, others believe that it is necessary in order to inspire children to excel. The case against excessive competition in school is a compelling one. By definition, not everyone can win a contest: where one child wins, another loses. Should a child lose consistently, he may be demotivated in his studies or dismissed by his peers, which could in turn lead to feelings of inadequacy and even a lack of drive later in life. Secondly, many believe that bringing out other qualities in children would be more beneficial. For example, former US President Franklin D. Roosevelt strongly advocated the promotion of co-operation over competition as a far more useful life skill. Were it the case that children were taught to work with instead of against each other, they may go on to accomplish far more. On the other hand, learning to compete has its benefits too. Many argue that it better prepares the next generation for the real world. Whether they are applying to a top university, seeking a new promotion, or running their own company, adult life is full of experiences where one is in competition with others. If pupils are primed for this from an early age, they are perhaps more likely to push themselves harder to succeed as adults. Take students from Asia as an example: they are often raised in an extremely competitive environment and, as a result, tend to achieve more academically than western children. To conclude, it is clear that this is not a straightforward issue. However, I believe that as much as learning to compete is an essential life skill in today’s world, co-operation between children should also be at the forefront of education to ensure a balanced future generation.