The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is argued that nowadays the safety rates throughout the world have witnessed a significant increase over the century, and there is already no need to invest a significant amount of funds in armed forces. While advancements in technology have contributed to a more peaceful environment compared with the past, I totally do not agree with that statement because of persistent global conflicts and potential urban crime. To begin with, there are still countless conflicts in a lot of countries. Despite advancements in diplomacy and international cooperation, numerous conflicts around the world demonstrate that peace is not common in all regions. Civil wars, regional conflicts, terrorism, and potential wars among countries are a few examples to illustrate that the earth has not been a calm and peaceful environment yet. Furthermore, increasing urban crime rates are a threat to most countries, as the course of urbanization has led to this pressing issue. Due to a dearth of facilities, increased poverty and unemployment rates have made people commit burglary, murder, theft, assault, and other types of crime. If the government stops spending large amounts of money on their armed forces, I believe that it can result in the death of numerous people. On the other hand, some say that the government’s overreliance on military power can hinder diplomatic efforts. They think that governments can prioritize diplomatic solutions to battle and foster mutual understanding. I partially agree with this view. It is true that war is not the only gateway to conflicts, however only trusting diplomatic negotiations and cutting expenditure on the military can result in the disappearance of a country. In conclusion, I believe that the world is still not a safe place for most people, and governments should not cut spending funds on their military due to potential worldwide clashes and urban crime.