Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

Recently, there have been conflicting views on whether enterprises should be inhibited from performing data mining on their consumers. Several argue they can do this practice easily, whereas others think it should be banned. This essay will discuss the reasons for both views, which are the growth of revenues and the rise of fraud cases involving endangered customers. On one hand, one potential benefit of collecting client information is that businesses may improve their profits. This is due to the fact that the information can be used to learn about customer behaviour which is useful for product development and increasing sales. For example, Facebook's meta-advertisement platform can learn about their users' activities and preferences and provide these details to advertisers, allowing them to create more targeted campaigns. As a result, a number of successful marketing campaigns have been launched, and this practice attracts firms to put their commercials on Facebook and enhance their earnings by millions of dollars annually. On the other hand, the drawback of this behaviour is the risk of malicious conduct, particularly data breaches. In other words, every company stores its files on servers that hackers can illegally access in order to gain an advantage. For instance, Tokopedia, one of the three biggest online marketplaces in Indonesia, discovered that a group of hackers accessed their buyer records unlawfully last year, selling them on the dark web, which is a forbidden platform on the internet, for a billion rupiah. In conclusion, although individual detail gathering can increase the business' sales, this behaviour may risk client privacy induced by security breaches. I believe the government should take steps to help cooperation's growth and maintain a secure information system for its citizens.