employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs personal information, such as their hobbies and inerests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people who work in HR are asking individuals who apply for a position in their company private data about themselves. Some argue that this data is irrelevant, while others agree with this trend and find this information useful. In this essay, I will discuss each side and give my opinion. On the one hand, many believe that adding personal information about yourself is crucial and enhances your resume in various ways. Firstly, adding your hobbies to your resume can help you get a better offer; for example, if a person is applying for a programming position, and they add that they play video games and can understand the aspects of video games, this hobby may help them get an offer with a better salary. Secondly, parents are busy with their children and do not have enough time to shift their focus to their work tasks and sometimes may ask for days off to take off so they can take care of their child when they are having difficulties, such as sickness, school events and exams. As a result, corporation firms prefer it if people put their personal information on their resume so they can know if they can take full responsibility or not. On the other hand, the purpose of a resume is to show off and illustrate your skills, certifications and experience, so adding personal information about yourself may seem unprofessional and unaware of application standards. In addition to that, some hiring managers may favour or hire a candidate after they know that they share the same interests with the candidate, which can cause an unfair situation for other applicants. To conclude, although adding personal information such as number, email and name is important, other personal information is considered unnecessary and may cause applicants to lose the offer.