Nowadays, an increasing number of people emigrate from one certain place to another for various reasons. In this essay, I will touch on both the benefits and drawbacks of migration.

​On the one hand, there are some positive implications of migration that can result in one’s personal growth. Firstly, migration can provide a person a unique opportunity to get to know new cultures, languages and gain new experiences. All these are crucial to improve ourselves as an open-minded individual and a thoughtful citizen. Furthermore, migration usually secures an individual’s access to a decent future by sometimes providing better job opportunities, higher wages, and improved living standards. A case in point is people who emigrate from some Asian countries, such as India, China or Vietnam. Most of those people who emigrate are the ones with lacking living standards and low-paying jobs. They tend to settle down in countries like United States or Canada that provide higher paying jobs with higher working standards. ​ On the other hand, migrations have also several downsides. Migration can result in feelings of loneliness and isolation in some individuals, particularly if they leave behind their roots and social networks. Since humans are social creatures, if we stay out of touch with other humans for too long by not speaking their language or being limited in any way of contact with them, it might bring some psychological problems in the long term. Moreover, migrants might face discrimination or prejudice in their destination countries due to their nationality, ethnicity, or even immigrant status. To illustrate, overall bias against Muslim community in United States can be shown. Every year, there are thousands of cases of discrimination which create false stereotypes about them and result in fear of Muslim people. ​In conclusion, it is obvious that migration has some upsides such as personal and economic growth. Nevertheless, it should not be ignored that it also might result in serious psychological and social problems.