In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays?

Around the world, schools close for a two-month period during the summer. While others may worry that it can disrupt the students’ learning journey, I believe that it brings significant value, which in turn can benefit students’ growth. First, long holidays during the summertime provide students a relaxation after the intense schooling session. This is important because it gives them a much-needed time for themselves, which can definitely prevent burnout and stress. Various experts have emphasised the importance of a break due to its crucial impact on the students’ achievement. For instance, many studies have shown that those who have an adequate time of rest are more likely to achieve high scores when they go back to class. While others, who have a prolonged study period, are observed with a reduced productivity rate. Second, summer holidays give pupils opportunities to join other programs, focusing on other activities to enhance their soft skills. They can be seen as a platform for children to explore passions and interests that the classroom cannot provide. Beyond that, such a program gives room to expand social circles outside the usual school environment. For instance, enrolling on a summer program, internship, and part-time job, can be beneficial to shape a sense of empathy, social skills, and discipline. This really confirms the benefits the adolescents can reap by joining these kinds of activities, as they introduce them to a new experience and perspective. To conclude, although some worry that a long summer break can have a detrimental impact on children, it definitely brings more value than harm to the learning journey. First, it highlights the importance of relaxation amidst an intense academic pressure. Secondly, the school break provides an opportunity to explore other activities, such as summer programs, internships, and part-time jobs, which can shape soft skills and help connect to other people.