Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Lack of housing is one of the biggest concerns in today's world, affecting millions of people all across the world. Therefore, some individuals contend with the notion that the government bears the primary responsibility for furnishing its citizens with accommodation. It is my contention that although the government holds the accountability to provide housing, its ability to make it free is limited in financial resources. First and foremost, as the population of earth experiences a burst in numbers, the living spaces are shrinking in volume, making it challenging to find a place to stay for many. Even the governments are falling short of providing proper housing opportunities to their citizens. Furthermore, putting a financial burden on the shoulders of the government is not an ideal way to overcome this shortcoming, but to further exacerbate it by diverting a majority of tax-payer money towards the construction of new houses to be later provided for free. Such magnitude of expenses can immensely affect dynamics of country budget allocation, thus, causing other unaccounted problems to emerge. To exemplify this statement, statistically, governments have to deduct all other spending so as to finance the concept of free housing for everyone due to the high cost of real estate. Consequentially, I believe this financing should solely be applicable to the people who need help desperately. Moreover, another reason why I disagree that housing should be free for citizens is that it can result in the destruction of the real estate market, leading up to the lay-offs of agents. For example, the need for rental or purchasing of houses will cease to exist once the governments decide to make accommodation costless. In conclusion, despite it is true that the government are obliged to offer free houses for people who cannot afford them, scaling up this initiative to a house per person can literally destroy the economic structure of a country.