With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that with the ever-increasing number of people in the world, providing enough food for the total population is extremely challenging, and using genetically modified foods would be a necessity to address this issue. I completely agree with this view for the reasons described below. GM foods are strictly resistant to different weather conditions, whether hot or cold. As a result, they could be grown in different areas worldwide, which could also help relieve the complications of transport. Moreover, they are resistant to insects and various diseases that may have negative effects on normal ways of growing plants. This will end up with people in each corner of the planet having access to hygienic and healthy food, leading to an increase in the health of individuals. Consequently, people won't die for unnecessary reasons, especially in developing countries. What's more, more crops can be fostered with a lower price due to the fact that they grow much more quickly than organic ways. By manipulating their genes, crops would grow more quickly, and more food would be available for people. For example, it could target those who suffer from hunger in third-world countries. Furthermore, they would have less water consumption compared to organic products. As most of the water usage goes to the agriculture industry, it can help alleviate the water crisis. Also, the money spent on fertilizers could be spent on other places such as health and education. In conclusion, I believe that using genetically modified foods due to the growing population of people in recent years and subsequently their increasing needs for money is crucial and would positively affect individuals worldwide.