Many people think that museums and art galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been an ongoing debate as to whether or not museums and art galleries should showcase pieces of work from local artists as opposed to foreign ones. I believe that it is rather essential to feature works from within the country exclusively, as this has positive impacts as I shall discuss in this essay. To begin with, focusing on local artistic works will enourage many touristic activities, which will in turn boost the eonomy of the country. For instance, showcasing works from local artists will mean that people from different countries will want to visit such places in order to learn and be entertained by their unique works of art. Thus, the country will get more revenue from the tourists. Secondly, sticking to only the local artists will help maintain the value of that particular country by promoting its uniqueness as demonstrated by their artists. This is not only important for the country, but also essential in protecting and nuturing local talents. For instance, people from local communities will show up to support their artists and this will also educate and entertain them. A very good example of this scenario is a local museum in Kenya which is open for the public every once a year for free. People turn up in huge numbers and this in turn servers as a good way of promoting knowledge and awareness among the locals. Additionally, including artistic works from other countries will discourage local people from travelling to other countries in order to explore new experiences, since they might as well learn all that from their local museum. It also means that local content is at risk of being devalued. To sum up, the advantages of showcasing local pieces of art outweighs the disadvantages and, therefore, people should advocate for museums and art galleries to show only local content as it will enrich both the artists and the country at large.