You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some would say that consumers are loaded by a growing number of commercials from different companies, which produce the same products and services. This essay totally agrees with that statement because advertisers persuade people to buy products and services by emphasizing them as a status symbol and playing on inner fears and insecurities. To avoid being influenced by advertising, focus on needs and mindfulness should be considered. To illuminate how the advertising might affect potential customers, the following example might be used. If someone has a dog or a puppy then for a dog food advertisement to truly compel pet owner to make a purchase it would likely try to elicit an emotional response from them: if the animal is not eating the “most nutritious food on the market” is the pet care approach hurting their health? Additionally, they know that people with pets are their target audience. Anyny clicking done around pet ownership made consumers the prime target for that Purina ad. There are some measures that can be taken to prevent this. One of them is to concentrate and focus on needs. It means prioritising needs over wants and making conscious purchase decisions. One more way is mindfulness while shopping. Practising it and being aware of emotional triggers will help to resist impulsive buying. For example, it is recommended to create a shopping list and set clear spending limits, which might include both time and money. To conclude, while the effect of advertising campaigns is huge there are still measures that might help people to stop buying unnecessary services and products.