Children these days spend a lot of time apart from their parents because in many homes, both parents work. What problems can be caused by this? What are some ways to support such children?

It is true that many children spend an amount of time away from their parents since it is common for both mothers and fathers to have full-time jobs. While this is a serious problem, it can be solved by improving the resources available to working parents. The main issue with children being separated from their parents for much of the time is that this can affect them mentally in a negative way. For starts, kids will have a limited number of people to communicate with in their daily lives. Interaction is an important part of healthy development, so emotional progress can be adversely impacted when children are left without supervision.In fact, a study found that children who stay home without their parents are likely to exhibit negative social development by the time they reach the sixth grade. Even if they have a babysitter looking after them, they can develop extreme shyness, or conversely, they can act out. However, there are solutions to this problem. One of the ways to keep children happy and safe is to assist their working parents by establishing more facilities and after-school programs. Creating more supervised environments can give children a chance to do their homework, play games, and participate in a range of extracurricular activities with peers until their parents are able to pick them up.In effect, these facilities can help children to develop social skills. This is illustrated by the example of South Korea where many working parents send their children to after-school clubs, classes, and programs. There, they can take part in activities with their friends that enhance their abilities to interact with others while boosting their development. To sum up, it is clear that being away from their parents is unfavorable for children's emotional development. Nevertheless, the issue can be resolved by offering more childcare options to working parents.