In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is possible to note that there is a movement among young people in choosing the short path to their professional development. In other words, they are enrolling in work-based training instead of going to the university. This essay believes that the drawbacks of this choice outweigh the advantages in personal and global aspects as well. It is undeniable that, as faster someone ends his studies, as faster he is ready to work. This is the main reason why people tend to do work-based training. The advantages are clear because they take less time to acquire the necessary knowledge do apply in a specific field. In addition, it promotes financial independence of them, as far as they start to work and receive their salaries. In the current dentistry market, for instance, we can see many young professionals working on it, dealing with technical procedures and supporting the main dentists. On the other hand, this fast attachment on work environment does not help in workers' specialization in depth. In this aspect, universities play a huge role in making knowledge fields even more specific. Thus, these places promote the learning of diverse majors in an accurate way making professional even more capable of solving complex situations. Besides that, the academic environment prompts research which is essential for the increase of knowledge in any area. In conclusion, as we can see, the universities have a symbiotic relationship with market job. This undeniable necessity of learners on these institutions foster the enhancement of professionals. Because of this, having people enrolling in work-based training is good, but there are some disadvantages to be considered.