It has been proposed that citizens should only consume food and drink products that have been produced in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that people should only eat food products and beverages that are manufactured domestically. This essay completely agrees with this statement because this can help with food security and it can create job opportunities for its citizens. To begin with, consuming foods and beverages that are manufactured locally can enhance the food security of the nation. Relying on domestically produced food ensures that the citizens have enough supply. They will not be affected when there is a disruption in the food supply in the world. For example, the war between Gaza and Israel made it impossible for producers to deliver food to the affected areas. As a result, it left millions of people hungry. Thus, implementing this measure ensures that the supply of food and drinks in the country will be enough especially during critical times. In addition to that, this can increase the employment rate. With this, the demand for domestic food products and beverages will increase and this can prompt the manufacturers to increase production as well. Therefore, they will need additional manpower in order to maintain the supply in the community, which can also lead to the possible construction of new facilities. For instance, the National Food Authority in the Philippines, are only getting their supply of rice from the local farmers. And this has helped a lot of farmers in the country. Thus, if citizens will only patronize locally produced food, therefore, more people will be employed and this can lead to the growth of the economy. In conclusion, consuming food products and beverages that are produced locally has a significant benefit to the nation. Thus, it should be promoted because it can help with the food security of the nation and can also increase the employment rate.