Every year large numbers of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of people moving to different countries. This could prove to be beneficial to some, but it has certain drawbacks which affect many individuals and further extend to the entire community. This essay will list the merits and demerits of moving abroad. Moving to a different country provides an individual with job opportunities. In today’s fast-paced world, every individual desperately seeks opportunities for personal and professional growth. Migrating to a different country can offer better-paying jobs, and this could positively affect the individual by helping them to financially support their family and loved ones. Another advantage could be that migration of people to new regions could help in educating the population of a different country on various cultures and social practices. This in the future could be beneficial, as spreading awareness could improve the global recognition of their community. Despite the advantages, travelling to a different country results in staying away from family and loved ones. In search of success, many people sacrifice precious time that they could spend with their close circle, which can be an enjoyable experience. Additionally, families generally support an individual in times of need and also keep an individual mentally healthy. Another drawback can be the disappearance of traditional roots and culture. With an increased number of people leaving their countries, they get accustomed to western tradition and tend to neglect their own cultural practices. Moreover, they also do not pass on this cultural knowledge to their children. This may prove to be detrimental to the various cultures belonging to different parts of the world. In conclusion, while migrating to another country for career-based or personal reasons might have its limitations such as decreased time with family and cultural neglect, the advantages of better growth opportunities and awareness of culture cannot be ignored. Hence, individuals should assess the merits and demerits carefully before making such life-changing decisions.