The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In modern life, some people hold the notion that youngsters should not absorb the traditional ideas and advices, shaped by older generations life experience. From my point of view, I partially agree with this claim and believe that those rules and ideas should be accepted with critical thoughts. On one hand, some traditional ideas should be preserved and imparted to next generation because those ideas manifest extending virtue and good personality of the culture. For example, in some Asian country, older generations always educate adolescents to respect vulnerable groups, such as elderly population, left over children and disabled people. These traditional norms will definitely raise their awareness of social responsibility. Thus, these adolescents will bear in mind help others and make contributions to the society at the same time making money for living. On the other hand, I accept that youngsters should not obey those outdated and restrictive ideas. Some of them are considered challenging social norms years ago. Older generations, in some developing countries hold the opinion that young women should fulfill their responsibilities giving birth to children by maintain in the stable job with low skill set requirements. Navigating through the business battlefield has not been considered things as expected to women. Should young women listen to those advice, they would have never possessed the equal social status with privileged man as they have now. Additionally, older generations are also loyal resistant about change and innovation for the sake of maintaining their social status and wealth. Those technology enthusiasts should not listen to their ideas, which might even contain extreme bias. In conclusion, I partially agree that it is better for youngsters to follow those advantageous traditional ideas from older generations but get rid of those outdated conventional norms unadaptable to constantly changing world.