You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

People's lifespans are increasing globally. Medical care over the past century has improved significantly, enabling people to overcome diseases that were once incurable. Not only medicine has improved since the last century, but also life standards, quality and duration of life. The benefits of this progress far outweigh the drawbacks. One obvious issue with an ageing population is that socioeconomic factors are becoming more unstable, because it’s not a fact that the elders will be in a bad condition. By this, I mean that some old people still working and occupying potential jobs for the youth. In fact, it will be more difficult for the new generation to get a job based on their higher degree. But on the other hand, the mental life quality and health of people are sharply improving year by year. Having said that, one obvious benefit to people living longer is that they have even more opportunities in their lives. Consequently, the mental health of people is also improving a lot. By this i mean that all over the world people already become more kinder, more responsible and friendlier to each other. For example, it allows people to reach more personal, social and professional goals throughout their life. So, elders also could try something new and even turn their dreams into reality. Weighing up both sides of the argument again, it absolutely has a lot of advantages of increasing life expectancy. The ability of a person to live longer in a kind and comfortable society with excellent medicine, with the opportunity to try everything, is wonderful.