Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, most meals and beverages have featured high levels of sugar that are harmful to health, and because of that the price of sugary products must be increased. I strongly agree with those who believe that increasing the price of sugary products would encourage people to lower their consumption levels and promote healthier lifestyles. Increasing prices of sugary foods and drinks may help people from unhealthy lifestyles, which is better for human health. By raising the price, they may opt for healthy foods and drinks. To illustrate, in America a country with one of the highest percentages of obesity rates, they choose sugary foods and drinks because it is cheaper than healthy foods, and other than that it quicker to prepare. Moreover, lowering the price of healthy food would have a more immediate and positive impact on public health. Moreover, sugary foods and drinks not only cause obesity, but can also lead to diabetes, which may also cause complications in the human body. Furthermore, expensive sugary products would change people's behaviour from consuming sugary foods and drinks to picking healthy ones if the government and society agree to educate people about the nutritional labels of sugary foods and drinks, in particular, it can lead to diabetes. In conclusion, while some may argue increasing the prices of foods and drinks that feature excessive levels of sugar is not a guaranteed way to encourage people to have a healthy lifestyle, I firmly believe that raising the cost of meals and beverages would improve public health. It would not only prevent people from obesity but also reduce the risk of diabetes. Furthermore, it could change people's lifestyles to more healthy.