New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experi

There is a recurring argument that with access to a wide range of new and innovative technologies, the way of spending leisure time with children has changed. This writer argues that the benefits of developing problem-solving skills and staying connected with family and friends outweigh the drawbacks of sleep disorders. The most advantageous factor of modern technologies is their ability to promote learning and skills development for children. To explain further, there is a variety of educational apps and games that can help children learn mathematics, science, and language skills in a simple, fun, and engaging manner. Additionally, video games have the potential to teach children problem-solving skills, critical thinking, and hand-eye coordination which is essential for their work and study. From prior knowledge, in most developed countries, youngsters are encouraged to interact with technology since the first year of primary education. Keeping in touch with families and friends must also be considered. It must be recognised that technologies such as social media, messaging apps, and video chat programs can enhance modes of communication allowing children to stay connected with friends and family who live far away from them. In other words, those individuals have the ability to send messages as well as have video calls through social platforms. Thereby, children can stay closer with whom they love. However, a few parents believe that technologies could pose a risk to the physical and mental health of children who get too much screen time. They believe that spending too much time on devices can cause sleep disorders, which is the consequence of stopping melatonin in our bodies due to the blue light. This may be true, but by effective parental control, the amount of time that children spend on technology devices will be reduced. Taking all points into account, the possible impact of children have lack of sleep is outweighed by the opportunity to gain vital skills and keep in touch with each other. Hence, access to technology can be beneficial for kids.