Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people harbour a belief that national economic success is associated with work time. Therefore, countries which have long average working hours are economically superior to those without long work time. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the sceptics as it is more important to develop promising industries than prolong working hours. Initially, one of the main arguments for its rejection is that long work time does not guarantee the advantages of economic performance. Take Taiwan for example, employees in Taiwan only have 17 official days off per year which is much fewer than in most Western countries. However,no one will deny that the economic development in Western countries exceeds that in Taiwan. Thus, Taiwan is a salient example which demonstrates work hours are not in direct proportion to economic results. According to the aforementioned, it is not the time expenditure that matters in a country's economic growth. At the other end of the spectrum, a precise vision of future trends will bring about a significant impact on the social economy. For instance, the growing tendency of K-pop not only considerably changes the world but also makes Korean economic status skyrocket. Nowadays, Korea is known for its entertainment industry. Hence, focusing on industrial enhancements is crucial to improving a country's economy. To sum up, long average work time may not be an indispensable factor to a country’s economic growth. Besides, prospering industrial development plays a relatively vital role in the improvement of economic success. Thus, countries in which employees averagely work for a long time do not ensure their economic increase.