“Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society.” To what extent do you support this view? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some argue that imprisonment is an effective method to punish bad people, in this way, they can be separated in the community. This essay completely agrees with this statement because this can help decrease crimes and this can also help to change their behavior. To begin with, isolating bad people from the community can help lower the number of crimes in society. Putting them in prison lowers the number of offenders on the street because it removes their freedom to do anything they want, especially their urge to do bad things. Also, this can help cut their ties with other criminals. As a result, less crime will be committed. For instance, incarcerating drug lords can help decrease the supply of drugs. If all of them are in prison, then the problems with drugs can be solved. Thus, imprisonment is an effective form to decrease crime rates. in addition to that, jailing them can help manage their bad behaviours. In prison, prisoners are given a chance to study, have recreational activities, and attend bible study. These activities can help them change their bad behaviours and help them start a new life after their confinement. For instance, prisoners in the Philippines are taught how to make bags and purses. This livelihood activity is intended to help them earn income in a good way. Thus, this method can be useful in transforming their bad actions into good ones. In conclusion, incarceration is an effective penalty for criminals. I believe this can help in curbing the crimes and also with changing their unwanted behaviours.